Breaking Internet Silence

I mentioned in my first post that I would explain why I couldn’t be found on the internet prior to this week. That explanation is the subject of my musings in this post.

Being invisible to the world wide web is an especially remarkable feat given that I work in the high tech industry, and furthermore that I work for a communications company. How did this come about, and more interestingly, why? In other words, WTF?

I can tell you it was a deliberate decision (however crazy it might seem), and it really does take some effort to fly under the radar and beyond the grasp of Google, Inc. But why am I finally throwing in the towel in this quixotic effort and breaking my internet silence? Why – for better or for worse – I am now writing in the indelible, eternal ink of the internet? And why, therefore, am I now risking eternal embarrassment and ruin, never again escaping any thought committed to writing, however random on ill-conceived?

OK, maybe that was too dramatic.  Not so many people have been fired for tweeting or blogging so far.

I don’t want to launch into a full blown psychoanalysis of my childhood, but let me just say that my mother encouraged us to be compassionate, kind and empathetic, and discouraged any sort of pride or self-promotion (you shouldn’t even say that you did something well, even when you really did do something well). My father encouraged a fierce ethic of independence and self-reliance, with a solid dose of libertarian-hands-off-privacy thrown in to boot. From observations of my extended family you might conclude that there is some sort of genetic dominance toward these traits. You would also conclude from these same observations that if there is a gene trait for liberalism that it is highly recessive in my family, so much so that some were even questioning my paternity (normally I’m not going to point out the fact that I’m making a joke, but since my Dad might eventually read this I need to say right here that I really am just joking about this).

Out of all of this emerged a very liberal, independent, unpretentious, and very private me.

I put up the good fight for privacy and anonymity, but the effort is no longer worth the cost.  I’m throwing in the towel and joining the online community.  And once I decide to do something, I’m doing that thing 110%, even if it is 180 degrees in the opposite direction from before.  So now I’m trying to overcome my aversion to self-promotion and am putting myself out there.

Look out world (wide web).

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

